Ive taken a slightly different approach to point building on NB. On New Hey I drilled a pilot hole through the sleeper and put in a brass pin leaving the head protruding, as you would using rivet construction, but when I found that the pins I use to provide a firm anchor for the track were actually pushing the sleepers down into the cork track base, I had to use plan B. Plan B is driving them in between the sleepers, again leaving the top of the pin just above sleeper height to solder the rail on to. In actual fact it works better as I now don’t have to mess around with cosmetic half chairs on the sleepers with a pin on! I didn’t have this problem on New Hey as the track was laid direct onto the ply baseboard tops without any underlay. Underlay was used on NB as I need to produce a very pronounced ballast shoulder on the running lines.

I do like the pins on two counts, firstly it stops any creep causing our of gauge track as the butanone cures the chairs to the sleepers and secondly the protruding pin tip under the baseboard provides a good electrical feed without having to solder on lots of dropper wires. The following pictures of the construction of the diamond crossing illustrate

diamond 2

The first photo shows the pin at the toe end of the diamond in place ready to receive the rail

 

diamond 1

and the overall view as the diamond takes shape

 

Diamond 3

 

Ready to secure the stock rail

